Welcome to Friends Place DeSoto

Friends Place in DeSoto offers the premier Friends Place Adult Day Services in Southwest Dallas County.   By offering both a social and medical model of care, people with memory impairment can remain at home, maintain an optimal level of functioning plus delay the need and/or avoid placement in a long term care facility.  To read more about how Friends Place is different, click here.

Friends Place in DeSoto began offering services to the Southwest Dallas County area is 2012. Since inception, we have offered services to more than 130 families. We are the only free-standing, dedicated adult day center in the area that specializes in Alzheimer’s and other dementias.

We are proud to be able to provide services to our veterans through our contract with the Veterans Administration of North Texas. Read more about our VA contract here.

Transportation now available!  Call for more information. 

Friends Place in DeSoto was honored to be featured in the Dallas Morning News Best Southwest magazine. Please read our story here.

.

September  Happenings

Music Series

Tue Sept. 5   Jim Gaitlin
Thu Sept.14 Gary Freeman – Sept Birthday Celebration
Tue Sept. 19 John Goodwin
Fri Sept. 22 Desoto Steppers
Tue. Sept. 26 Norris Perry

Health Happenings

Daily Exercise @ 11:30
Fri Sept. 15 Hand Massages
Mon Sept. 25 Yoga with Charla
Fri Sept. 29 Hand Massages

Special Events

Mon Sept. 18 Staycation- “Travel To Mexico” All week
Tue Sept. 12 Art Lessons with Burl
Wed Sept. 27 Cassidy the Therapy Dog
Thu Sept. 28 Zeta Sorority-“Back to School”

Support Group Information

This Month Caregiver Support Group Meetings

Date:  Tuesday, September 12

Time:  2:00 p.m. General Discussion

Date: Tuesday, September 26

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Special Presentation

Speaker: Jeannine Mosely, 

New Dawn Hospice

Topic: End of Life Decisions

 

Meetings are sponsored by the Alzheimer’s Association and are open to the community. Care for your loved one available at no charge during the meeting.

UPCOMING HOLIDAY CLOSURES

Friends Place will be closed:

Thanksgiving Holiday

Closed Thursday and Friday, November 23- 24

Will reopen Monday, November 27th

 

Christmas Holiday

Closed December 25 through January 1st

Will reopen Tuesday, January 2, 2018